Sign In Forgot Password

Committees and Volunteering

Members committed to bettering our synagogue and community

Our vibrant and dedicated community of committee members and volunteers provide invaluable benefits to our synagogue life on a daily basis. From organizing events and educational programs to finance and leadership, these congregants help to strengthen and inspire us.

Adult Education

Chair: TBC
Responsible for organizing adult education programs that are open to the community.

Arts & Aesthetics

Chair: Lewis Dobrin
Ensures the beauty and placement of artwork throughout the facility.


Chair: L. Michael Blumenstein
Oversees the audit and financial controls.

Bikur Cholim

Chair: Carole Rocklin
In collaboration with the clergy, provides comfort and support to people who are ill, homebound, isolated, or otherwise in distress. If you or someone you know from the Shaar community is in the hospital, in a long-term care residence or is isolated at home please let us know by reaching Rabba Briah ( or 514 937 9474 ext 150). We will keep the information confidential. They or their families may benefit from the services of the Bikkur Cholim Volunteers through phone calls or visits. And if they’re in need of prayers, we will add their Hebrew name to our Misheberach list.

Board of Trustees

President: Jospeh Paperman
The governing body of lay leadership managing and administering the affairs of the congregation.


Chair: Michael N. Bergman
Recommends amendments or changes to the By-laws of the Congregation.


Chair: Marian Levy
Oversees and implements appropriate communication strategies.


Chair: Geoffrey Gelber
Oversees policies and practices of the Shaar Cemetery.

Endowment Fund

Chair: Marvin Corber, C.M.
Oversees the procurement of endowments, bequests, and donations.


Chair: Michael Stern
Advises the congregation on financial matters related to income, expenditures, and annual budget.

French Connexion

Co-Chairs: France Brat & Isabelle Danino
French language programming. 

Hall Rental

Chair: Paul Levine
Recommends policies and procedures to ensure the Shaar remains a premier venue for Jewish Montreal’s galas and events.

Honorary Advisory Council

Chair: Dr. Mel Hershenfield
Councels the leadership on vital matters relating to the welfare of the congregation.


Chair: Bruce Vineberg
Oversees the maintenance and upkeep of our historic building.


Chair: Alvin Fagen
Recommends strategies and oversees investments of Shaar Endowment Funds.

Legacy Giving/Planned Giving

Co-Chairs: Marvin Corber & Barry Pascal
Fundraising program to support the Shaar in perpetuity.

Leisure Institute

Chair: Naomi Kassie
Organizes social, cultural, and educational programming targeting the senior population.


Chair: Judy Caplan
Oversees policies, procedures, and implementation of Meals on Wheels.


Co-Chairs: Mara Greenstone & Joseph Paperman
Charged with outreach and recruitment of new membership.

Men’s Association

President: Irwin Zelniker
Sponsors and organizes programs and initiatives of interest to the congregation

Mishloach Manot

The Sisterhood’s annual Purim project supporting the traditional Mitzvah of Mishloach Manot.


Ensures proper care of artifacts and collections in the Shaar’s Edward Bronfman Museum and creates and oversees seasonal exhibits.


Chair: Dr. Mel Hershenfield
Ensures the highest quality liturgical music and creates and promotes musical events.


Chair: Joseph Paperman 
Gathers together members representing all constituencies in the congregation in order to nominate leadership.

Parallel Service

Chair: Dr. Mel Hershenfield
Recommend strategies to enrich and enhance the service.

Reception and Decorum

Chair: Joshua Ostrega
Recruits ushers and oversees decorum of the High Holy Days services.

Religious Services

Chair: Jonathan Schneiderman
Oversees all ritual and religious activities of the congregation.


Chair: Joshua Ostrega
Ensures security policies and procedures are appropriate, current, and enforced.

Shaar Family Capital Campaign

Chair: Michael Cape
Charged with overseeing fundraising efforts.


President: Michaela Meltzer
Organizes projects and fundraisers that support the synagogue and promote cultural, spiritual, social and educational enrichment.

Tuesday Night Learning

Co-Chairs: Mark Caplan & Lewis Dobrin 
Responsible for organizing adult education programs that are open to the community.

Young Professionals

Chair: Jon Mechanic
Organizes programs for young adults in their 20s and 30s.


Chairs: Lainie Berger Davis & Cindy Davis 
Oversees the Shaar’s schools and recommends programs and activities for youth of all ages.
Sunday, April 21, 2024 13 Nisan 5784